Board of Directors

Wynand Janssen

Wynand Janssen. Chairperson. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 68 years.

  • Member of the Care Governance Committee
  • Ex Officio Member of all Committees

Mr Janssen was appointed a director in 2012 and became chairman in 2016.   He has worked in commercial financial roles for over 40 years; the last 20 were as Regional Finance Director for a multinational corporation. He was previously a director, and Treasurer, of Warrigal Care from 1997 until 2009, resigning from that role to take up an overseas assignment. He holds degrees in Commerce and Education as well as an MBA. He is a member of CPA Australia and a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors. He is a charter member of the Rotary Club of Illawarra Sunrise and has served in various capacities both within the club and at district levels.

Roger Downs

Roger Downs. Vice Chairperson. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 61 years.

  • Member of Business Risk and Audit Committee

Mr. Downs was appointed a director in 1997. He is a lawyer and a consultant to Kells Lawyers. Mr. Downs holds degrees in Commerce and Law and a postgraduate diploma in Management, He is Chairman of Illawarra Credit Union Ltd and a board member (and Chair of the Planning Committee) of Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District.


Wayne Morris. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 61 years.

  • Chairperson of Business Risk and Audit Committee
  • GAICD, ACIS, ACIM, MIPA, AIMM, AIFS and AMP (Harvard).

Mr Morris was appointed a director in 2009.He is a retired CEO and currently acts as a voluntary business consultant to various community, charity and church organisations. He is also on the boards of Illawarra Performing Arts Centre Inc, Living Sound Broadcasters Ltd, Southern Illawarra Church of Christ, Wollongong City of Innovation Ltd (trading as Destination Wollongong), Wollongong Conservatorium of Music Ltd, Wollongong Symphony Orchestra Ltd, The Disability Trust and Food For Life Community Care.

Margaret Collins

Margaret Collins. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 66 years.

  • Member of Business Risk and Audit Committee

Mrs Collins was appointed a director in 1997. She has over 33 years experience in the financial services industry and has completed the Diploma of Financial Planning through Deakin University. Mrs Collins is a retired Financial Planner. Past community involvement includes serving as Secretary of Warilla Chamber of Commerce, Treasurer of Skills with Advancement and Training, Branch Delegate for Shellharbour Junior Surf Life Saving Club and Shellharbour Netball Club.

Philip Thompson

Philip Thompson OAM. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 68 years.

  • Chairperson of Planning Development and Sustainability Committee
  • Member of Project Control Group

Mr Thompson was appointed a Director in 1999. He is a retired Local Government Engineer and the Chairperson of a Community Consultative Committee for the Development of the Hanson Quarry, Bass Point. He has held Regional voluntary positions with the Salvation Army Red Shield Appeal, was the Association of Apex Clubs NSW State President and Illawarra District Governor. He was an inaugural member of the Illawarra Life Education units, past Treasurer of the Illawarra branch of the Automotive and Mechanical Engineers, past Secretary of the Oak Flats Junior Hockey Club and is a Justice of the Peace. Mr Thompson was awarded and Order Of Australia Medal (OAM) in 2011 for his contribution to Aged Care and Apex, and is currently the Treasurer for the Illawarra Order Of Australia Committee.

Judy Mullan


Dr Judy Mullan. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 59 years.

  • Member of the Care Governance Committee

Associate Professor Judy Mullan was appointed a director in 2000. She is the Director of the Centre for Health Research Illawarra Shoalhaven Population (CHRISP) and the Deputy Director for the Illawarra & Southern Practice Research Network (ISPRN) within the University of Wollongong. Judy holds Bachelor degrees in Pharmacy and the Arts, and has a PhD in Public Health. She is a registered pharmacist and a fellow of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia. Her community involvements include voluntary work for aged care services, multicultural organisations, church organisations, and support for regional and rural health medical students. Her professional and research aims are help to improve the safe use of medicines, the management of chronic diseases and health service delivery.

Helen Newman

Helen Newman. Independent Non-Executive Director. Age 60 years.

  • Chairperson of the Care Governance Committee
  • Member of Planning Development and Sustainability Committee

Mrs Newman was appointed a director in 2004. She is a Registered Nurse currently working at Shellharbour Hospital in Nursing Administration. She has several certificates related to post graduation nursing studies and a Graduate Diploma in Nursing (Critical Care). She is a member of the Australian College for Infection Prevention and Control.


Nicky Sloan 2019 Head Shot

Nicky Sloan. Independent Non-Executive Director.

  • Chief Executive Officer of Community Industry Group

Nicky is the Chief Executive Officer of Community Industry Group. And has extensive experience in the community services industry working in women's and family services. Community development and strategic management. Her work history also includes local government, marketing and banking and finance.


Contact us

2 Pine Street, Albion Park Rail, NSW 2527
PO Box 435 Albion Park, NSW 2527
Fax: 4257 4232

Toll free: 1800 WARRIGAL

Contact Me 

Volunteer with us

Warrigal was founded by volunteers and they continue to be vital to ensuring our residents happiness. From driving buses to regular visits, even assisting with our business operations, we have many varied opportunities for anyone who would like to donate their time, energy and skills to Warrigal’s residents.

Apply now